New Phone, Who This?

Been a busy last few weeks. A lot of pinching myself hoping the election result was merely a bad dream I couldn’t wake up from, mostly. But a little drunken, late-night declaration of my candidacy for the Presidency in 2020 later and I’ve managed to put myself back on a (mostly) even keel.

Also went out and finally upgraded my cellphone. After six years and seven months, Verizon has managed to shut down one more unlimited data account. But in exchange, I’m finally back on Android with the LG Stylo 2 (or Stylo 2 V as the Verizon variant is called). It’s been a most impressive experience so far. The 3000 mAh battery really does last longer than any other phone I’ve had. The MediaTek processor makes the entire Android Marshmallow experience the least laggy of any Android variant I’ve ever used (dating myself here, but the first Android device I had was the HTC Droid Eris, which shipped with Cupcake).

I haven’t had much time to check out the cameras yet, because I’ve been afraid to do much yet. My local Verizon store didn’t have any cases in stock, and the one I ordered online arrived about six hours ago.

The built-in nano-coated stylus glides across the screen, but feels pretty miniscule in a bigger hand. And I’d you opt for a screen protector, the stylus loses that feeling and seems to drag. If you’re going to use a screen protector, you may want to go with a standard rubber tipped stylus.

Sheesh, if I go on much longer this is going to turn into an advertisement. I really just wanted to see if I could compose a blog entry on this thing. I’ll keep you in the loop andif any major flaws crop up, I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

